The lithium ion batteries’ developers are recognised for the development of a critical 21st century technology
As the Benchmark Quarterly Review was going to press it was announced that the Nobel Prize in chemistry for 2019 was to be awarded “for the development of lithium-ion batteries.” 

This year’s award went to Stanley Whittingham, professor at Binghamton University; John Goodenough, Cockrell Chair in Engineering at the University of Texas; and Akira Yoshino, professor at Meijo University.

Stanley Whittingham first developed the lithium ion battery in the 1970s. Speaking as the guest of honour at Benchmark Minerals’ Cathodes 2017 event . . .

Login to continue reading!

This article is restricted to Benchmark Members


Not subscribed yet?

Interested in Benchmark Membership? Fill in the form below for more details and to receive a free copy of Benchmark Membership's Benchmark Quarterly Review Magazine.